Architecture, Landscape and Urban Design Awards

The next Awards will be held in 2020.

2017 Awards



The Awards

Ku-ring-gai has many fine historical and modern dwellings, apartment buildings and commercial works by highly respected and notable architects.

The Ku-ring-gai Architecture, Landscape and Urban Design Awards seek to recognise new development that supports and enriches Ku-ring-gai’s quality built and landscape character. It provides the mechanism for Council to celebrate excellence in architecture and urban design and promote the professionals responsible for its delivery.

The awards will be presented for the following five categories:

1.    Heritage Design

Including works to a Heritage Item and Building Contributing to a Heritage Conservation Area.

2.    Contemporary Design

Including Multi-Residential Building, Mixed-Use Building, Non-Residential Building.

3.    Dwelling House Design

Including New Building, and Alterations + Additions.

4.    Sustainable Building Design

Including New Building, and Alterations + Additions.          

5.    Landscape Design

For private gardens, communal gardens, commercial gardens or open space, including rooftop gardens and gardens to Heritage Items.

6.    People’s Choice Award

            Will be presented to the entry that is chosen by popular vote by members of the public.



A sum of $1,000.00 prize money per category will be awarded to the winning architect in each category.

In addition, the Panel of Judges may issue a Certificate of Commendation to the architect of any other notable projects. 

The number of categories and prizes allocated will be at the sole discretion of the Panel of Judges.

Nominating a project

Projects are to be in the Ku-ring-gai local government area and completed within the past five years (2015 to 2019). The owner of the property must consent to the nomination.

The opening date for 2020 Nominations is yet to be announced.

Entries can be lodged online via the nomination form which enables uploading of the required details and images.

In addition to the online Nomination Form, entrants are required to provide a signed Owner's Consent form which will be made available when nominations open.

The signed owners consent form confirms agreement by the owner for their property to be nominated, displayed as an entry, and visited by the Panel of Judges if it is shortlisted.

Where the same entry is applying for consideration under a number of categories, a separate online nomination form and additional documentation is to be submitted for each category.

All nominations will be made available online for public viewing. The Panel of Judges will visit shortlisted entries to determine the winning entries and any commendable works.

Entrants must have consent from all relevant parties to facilitate the Panel's onsite visit in the event their project is shortlisted.

Shortlisted entries will be announced prior to the Awards Ceremony and winners will be announced and presented with prizes at the Awards Presentation Ceremony.

People’s Choice Award online voting

The People’s Choice Award will be determined by popular online voting by members of the public, and presented at the Awards Presentation Evening.

Key stages of nomination entry


2017 Panel of Judges

The Awards are shortlisted and judged by an independent panel of three architectural experts. The winners are announced at a special Awards Presentation Ceremony.

Ku-ring-gai Council was pleased to have the following well-respected architects on the 2017 Panel:



Rathna Rana, Senior Urban Planner (02) 9424 0000.