Architecture and Urban Design Awards

architecture and urban design awards

Latest news


The Awards


Ku-ring-gai has many fine historical and modern dwellings, apartment buildings and commercial works by highly respected and notable architects.

The Ku-ring-gai Architecture and Urban Design Awards seeks to recognise new development that supports and enriches Ku-ring-gai’s quality built and landscape character. It provides a mechanism for Council to celebrate excellence in architecture and urban design and promote the professionals responsible for its delivery.

The awards will be presented for the following five categories:

1.    Heritage Design

Including works to a Heritage Item, and Building Contributing to a Heritage Conservation Area.

2.    Contemporary Design

Including Multi-Residential Building, Mixed-Use Building, Non-Residential Building.

3.    Dwelling House Design

Including New Building, and Alterations + Additions.

4.    Sustainable Building Design

Including New Building, and Alterations + Additions.

5.    People’s Choice Award

            Will be presented to the entry that is chosen by popular vote by members of the public.



A sum of $1,000.00 prize money per category will be awarded to the winning architect in each category.

In addition, the panel of judges may issue a certificate of commendation to the architect of any other notable projects. 

The number of categories and prizes allocated will be at the sole discretion of the panel of judges.

Panel of judges

The awards will be shortlisted and judged by an independent panel of three architectural experts. The winners will be announced at a special Awards Presentation Ceremony on Tuesday 9 May 2017.

Ku-ring-gai Council is pleased to have the following well-respected architects on the 2017 Panel:


Key dates

The Awards will be held every two years. The dates for the 2017 Awards are as outlined below:


Nominating a project

Projects are to be in the Ku-ring-gai local government area and completed within the past five years (2012 to 2016). The owner of the property must consent to the nomination.

Nominations open November 2016 and close Monday 5pm, 17 April 2017.

Entries can be lodged online via the nomination form which enables uploading of the required details and images. If an applicant is unable to lodge a nomination online, please contact Council.

In addition to the online Nomination Form, entrants are required to provide the following signed Owner's Consent form:

  • Signed Owner’s Consent Form

Confirming agreement for their property to be nominated, displayed as an entry, and visited by the Panel of judges if it is shortlisted.

Click here to download the Owner's Consent Form (pdf. 120KB)

  • Submit the signed Owner’s Consent Form to:


Please quote reference number 'S11182'

Where the same entry is applying for consideration under a number of categories, a separate online nomination form and additional documentation is to be submitted for each category.

All nominations will be made available online for public viewing. The panel of judges will visit shortlisted entries to determine the winning entries and any commendable works.

The panel of judges will visit shortlisted entries on Thursday 27 April 2017 between 10.00am and 3.00pm to determine the winning entries and any commendable works. Entrants must have consent from all relevant parties to facilitate the onsite visit on this date, in the event their project is shortlisted

Shortlisted entries will be announced in April 2017 and winners will be announced at the Awards Presentation Ceremony on Tuesday 9 May 2017.

All nominators are to agree to the Terms and Conditions for the Award.

People’s Choice Award online voting

The People’s Choice Award will be determined by popular vote by members of the public, and presented at the Awards Presentation Evening. Online voting opens on Thursday 20 April and closes on Thursday 27 April 2017 at 5:00pm.

Key stages of nomination entry



Rathna Rana, Senior Urban Planner (02) 9424 0000.