Forced council mergers

Merger Update – 15 February 2017

Premier Gladys Berejiklian announced on 14 February that the government will continue to pursue forced mergers in Sydney, while forced mergers for regional councils will be discontinued.

In response to this decision, Ku-ring-gai Council issued a media release on 14 February

The Council will continue with its action in the Court of Appeal on 16 and 17 February presenting our case as to why a forced merger with Hornsby should not proceed.

Until the Court’s judgement is handed down, there will be no change to our status and the Council will continue its business as usual approach to delivering projects and services to our community.


court hammer

Update 20 September: Court judgement on forced merger announced

Ku-ring-gai Council has been partially successful in its case against a forced merger with Hornsby Council.
merger proposal

Ku-ring-gai Council’s submission on proposed merger with Hornsby Shire

Our submission to the NSW Boundary Commission Review can be viewed here.
hammer and scales

Council takes legal action on forced merger proposal

We've commenced proceedings over the state government’s refusal to release the full KPMG report on mergers.
merger proposal cover

Ku-ring-gai and Hornsby Shire merger proposal

View NSW Government's merger proposal for Ku-ring-gai and Hornsby Shire councils
Question mark


Answers to questions that Ku-ring-gai residents may have following this latest announcement by the Baird Government.

Council's media releases on the forced merger

Read recent media releases from Council on this issue.
council building

What is Council's position

Ku-ring-gai Council believes it is in the best interests of its residents for it to remain a stand alone Council and not merge with Hornsby Council.

Background information

Learn more about the reports, communication and community consultation that have already taken place.

What you told us

Our consultation shows the majority of the community do not support a merger with Hornsby Shire Council.