The Shire of Ku-ring-gai was first constituted with six councillors in March 1906. The first 'president' of the Council was William Cowan, appointed in 1907.
A small Shire Council building was constructed in 1911 on the main road in Gordon, replacing the temporary offices that had been on the grounds of St John's Church.
The inter-war period saw vast improvements in infrastructure and a period of urban consolidation. With the increase in building applications, local government needed to expand. In 1928, the Shire was converted into a municipality with four wards, each represented by three aldermen. The original section of the present Council Chambers was opened in 1928, the year in which the first Mayor of Ku-ring-gai, Edward Astley, took office.
Almost all of Ku-ring-gai was designated for residential development as opposed to commercial and industrial development, and very few blocks of flats were permitted before 1940.
The period between 1950 and 1980 saw Ku-ring-gai's population double from roughly 50,000 to 100,000 as a result of post-war marriages and immigration. The increase since 1980 to around 110,000 has been much less rapid.
Over the years, Council has built or supported local amenities to service the growing population, including four libraries, two public golf courses, an arts centre, youth centres, Olympic swimming pool and many other community facilities.
The Ku-ring-gai of today is a culturally diverse society that still retains much of its unique natural and built heritage.
Source: Ku-ring-gai Historical Society, 1996, Focus on Ku-ring-gai: The Story of Ku-ring-gai''s Growth and Development.